

Ivan P. Phelan Award

Ivan P. Phelan, in whose honour the award is presented, was the former Vice President and Secretary of Avon Canada Inc., and twice served as Chairman of the Direct Sellers Association. Through his long association with Avon Canada (1935-1972) and the DSA, Mr. Phelan's contributions epitomized the entrepreneurial style of those leaders who have made the Direct Selling Industry in Canada the success it is today.

The award was first presented in 1988 and the Awards Committee, on behalf of the DSA, deemed it appropriate to select Ivan P. Phelan as its first recipient. Mr. Phelan passed away on March 28, 1992.

Everyone involved in, or associated with, the industry is invited to nominate candidates for this prestigious award.



Susan Timmermeister, Director, Strategy and Business Services, Mary Kay., 2020 Recipient.

CRITERIA

- 1. The nominee must have worked in, or been associated with, the Canadian direct selling industry.
- 2. The winner will be selected based on:
 - a) the nominee's personal contribution to the direct selling industry;
 - b) a detailed account of the nominee's contribution to the industry and a description of his or her corporate responsibilities must accompany the submission;
 - c) consideration will also be given to individuals who have made significant contributions by promoting the industry through consumer associations or groups, government agencies, other businesses and the general public;
 - d) submissions will be judged on the content rather than the quantity or appearance of the information supporting the nomination.

The decision of The Ivan P. Phelan Award Committee is final. If, in the opinion of the Committee, no suitable candidate is nominated, the award will not be presented.

Please complete this form and submit with supporting materials no later than November 8, 2021 to tara@dsa.ca.



Past Recipients

2019	Gina Bresciani, USANA Health Sciences	2003	Melanie Hayden, PartyLite Gifts, Ltd.
2018	Rhancha Trick, Nature's Sunshine Canada	2002	W. Jack Millar, Millar Wyslobicky Kreklewetz LLP
2017	Helena Alexandre, Arbonne International Canada	2001	Murray Smith, Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.
2016	Nathalie Cormack, Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.	2000	Jim Hunking, Amway of Canada, Ltd.
2015	Janice Gerol, The Pampered Chef – Canada Corp.	1999	Paul Hanson, Nu Skin Canada Inc.
2014	Joan Lee, Direct Sellers Association of Canada	1998	Linda J. Herron, Electrolux Corporation of Canada Inc.
2013	Dr. Derek Hassay, Haskayne School of Business, University of Calgary	1997	Roberta M. Creber, Partylite Gifts and Ross P. Creber, DSA
2012	Patricia King, Nu Skin Canada Inc.	1996	Margaret F. Csordas, Beauty Counselors
2011	Angela Abdallah, Amway Canada Corporation	1995	Vic Prendergast, Shaklee
2010	Lynda Rose, Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.	1994	Jacques Langevin, Avon
2009	Garry Ford, Nature's Sunshine Products of Canada Limited	1993	Robert H. Bradshaw, Amway
2008	Robin Bell, Quixtar Canada Corporation	1992	Stephen J. Locke, Shaklee
2007	Ray Patrick, Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.	1991	Gayle Gannon, Creative Circle
2006	John Prevost, mi3 Solutions	1990	Frank Wilson, Amway
2005	Judson Whiteside, Miller Thomson	1989	Charles L. Snow, Mary Kay Cosmetics Ltd.
2004	James Kalil, Cutco/Vector Marketing Canada Ltd.	1988	Ivan P. Phelan, Avon



Ivan P. Phelan Award Nomination Form

Nomir	nee:			
Comp	any:	Title:		
Nomir	nated by:			
Company:		Title:		
The no	ominee:			
	is/has worked in the Canadian direct selling	industry.		
	is/has been associated with the direct selling industry.			
	is making/has made significant contributions by promoting the industry through consumer associations or groups, government agencies, other businesses and/or the general public.			
Inforn	nation to provide with submission:			
	A detailed account of the nominee's contribution to the Industry.			
	A description of his/her corporate responsibilities.			
	A description of how the nominee is making/has made contributions and to whom.			
Please provide a brief summary as to the qualifications of the individual whom you have nominated to receive the Ivan P. Phelan Award.				